Let’s Go Racing

7 Jan

Sorry the posting has been so sporadic lately.  Things have been busy for some reason.  We haven’t been doing anything huge, but everyday we just pass the time quickly.  Like sands in the hourglass (or however it goes)…

I haven’t really written much about this but Will and I have started training for a half-marathon later this year.  We started December 1 with several people all over the country.  I’ve never called myself a runner, and it’s not something I’ve particularly enjoyed doing.  But it was a challenge, and what better a challenge could it be?  You can click on the link for our training blog here or on the blogroll.  We’ve surprisingly done really well so far.  I certainly had my doubts, but I now love running.  It’s amazing!!

The goal of the first 10 weeks is to simply run for 30 minutes straight.  From then on, we’ll work on mileage, time and endurance.  I’d never run in a real race (other than the Ghost and Goblin Run, taking it back oh….15 or so years), but I decided I wanted to try it out.  Will’s sister Kate also decided she wanted in on the challenge, so we’ve been running together a good bit lately.  We paid our fees and ran in the MLK 5K this past Saturday.  One word:  cold.  I’m really glad we did it, but it was less than 30 degrees at the start and not much more by the finish. 

dsc_0362.jpg

Before the race

dsc_0448.jpg

Crossing the finish

 

The boys cheered us on as we finished and it was so much fun!  Our next race is March 15th, the St. Pat’s in Five Points 5K.  Our goal race is the White Rock Half-Marathon this December in Dallas.  There’s also a half-marathon here in October.  So we’ll see how it all plays out…

If you’re up for the challenge, let me know and we’ll get you started!!

Leave a Reply

