Updates

24 May

I know it’s been forever since I’ve posted.  Life has been a bit crazy to say the least.  So I’ll think I’ll just catch you up in short form.

1.  The kids and I went to Louisiana last week.  It was dubbed “Princess Kate” weekend because Friday she graduated from LSU.  Summa Cum Laude, I might add.  (Sorry I’m just a proud sister!!)  Sunday was her big bridal shower that I organized, and Monday we did her bridal portraits.  So many pictures, so little time.  I took almost 2000 photos in 9 days, so it’s going to be tough paring them down.  I’ll post some ASAP.

2.  Did I mention Kate graduated Summa Cum Laude?  And she’s going to grad school for free!!!  How awesome is that????

3.  On the way down there, we almost got swept up in a tornado.  Now granted it was still a couple of miles off, which we found out after the fact, but it was absolutely terrifying.  I was a mere 15 miles from my aunt’s house in Baton Rouge (13 hours into the trip, mind you) when I had to pull the Hotyssey over on the side of the interstate.  I’m not one to do this, but in 60+ mph winds, hurricane-style torrential rain and hail, I was faced with no choice.  Then lightning struck a tree right next to us.  The kids were shocked and terrified all at the same time.

4.  But we made it.

5.  The next morning we were all in my mom’s closet at 6:30AM because another tornado was just a couple of miles away.  This one hit some friends’ house, but they were ok.  Crazy stuff.

6.  A few days later, some train tanker overturned.  It was carrying hydrochloric acid, which turns into chlorine gas.  So a major thoroughfare in Lafayette was shut down for a couple of days and evacuations were everywhere.   Last time I was there, that natural gas well explosion happened and shut down I-10.  I think we bring bad karma.  My mom said that’s not a good enough reason to stop visiting.  🙂

7.  I have a stress fracture in my tibia (lower leg).  This is from running and is probably related to a calcium deficiency.  If you want to know more, just ask.  But I’m going back to the ortho MD Tuesday, where I expect him to tell me I can’t run for 6-8 weeks.  I’m supposed to be wearing this giant boot thing, and since it’s on my right leg, I can’t drive with it.  I should probably wear it more, but I just can’t handle it emotionally.  Discuss.

8.  Amelia and Will’s birthdays are this week!!!  I can’t believe my baby girl is going to be 1.  I think it’s time for another one.  JUST KIDDING!!!!

That’s it for now.

Me and my future brother-in-law making fun of everyone at graduation.  I mean, when your mother names you Tequila, you leave yourself open to stuff like that, right???

The girls!

William hamming it up for the camera.  It’s in our code to try every new Mexican restaurant within a 30 mile radius.  There’s just something about a quest for the perfect chips and salsa.

Sweet Zachary and Aunt Kate.  Somehow he managed to open a packet of Equal, and then he proceeded to lick every molecule off of his finger.  At least he was entertained.

One Response to “Updates”

  1. Grammy May 24, 2008 at 10:28 pm #

    You absolutely crack me up! I loved every crazy minute of all of the excitement and chaos!! August can’t come soon enough!

Leave a Reply

