Amelia’s First Haircut

27 Jul

It was time.  I promise.

Until about a month ago, I thought you just didn’t cut a baby girl’s hair until they were 3 or so.  No, I was wrong.  My best friend Jessica informed me that they tend to get mullets.  That Amelia was at the M1 stage (M short for Mullet).  And in the time of one month, she progressed to the M2 1/2 stage.

So I took her in to Hair Doodles, a children’s salon here in Columbia.  The boys have never been–they just go to Hair Tamers.  But for Baby Girl, no ordinary place would do.  When she gets a little older, they paint the girls’ fingernails, french braid their hair, etc.

So Kelly cut all of 1 inch of CURLS off into a sweet little bob.  Then she put a pa-du-kee (AKA hair elastic) in her hair, secured her hairbow and then she took the curling iron to it.  And the next thing I knew, she had one LITTLE curl in her hair.  Absolutely adorable! 

She hated it the entire time, despite the fact she ate animal crackers.  But that’s ok.  I told her beauty is hard work and she’ll just learn to persevere.

 

4 Responses to “Amelia’s First Haircut”

  1. jenny July 31, 2008 at 12:02 am #

    i know i love it too…if only i could use it! its in the august fields collection by none other than amy butler

  2. Ashly July 31, 2008 at 10:50 am #

    Precious, and thanks for the lesson in baby girl mullet stages…Kendall is working on her very own “Kentucky Waterfall” as well! Sometimes we give the term mullet a french accent, because things tend to sound more acceptable when you do it that way, so we call it a “moolay” (phonetically speaking) 🙂

  3. brooke August 2, 2008 at 12:36 am #

    oh my goodness – i want to bite her big, fat cheeks! presh

  4. Erin Beard August 4, 2008 at 10:00 pm #

    Aww! She is so sweet, at first I was hoping for another boy, but seeing these precious photos make me 10x more excited about having girl! I have been going through dolls I used to play with and am excited about sharing them with her when she is older. And the cute dresses I’ve seen, yay for girls…of course boys are great too though!!

Leave a Reply

