Everything in Moderation

16 Dec

So I’m back after a month-long (?) hiatus.  Life has been crazy hectic and the Lord is taking us places I definitely never imagined we’d go.  But first things first, I really do love blogging.  I don’t consider myself a writer and thus, I have never been diligent at keeping journals for myself or for my kids.  But one of my most treasured possessions are the journals my mom wrote for me as I grew up.  I would love to give them something other than a multitude of quilts, which I should probably get to work on too.  The Lord has been convicting me over the last few weeks that I check Facebook waaaaay too much.  It’s easy to see why people get addicted to it and my pride always told me that I don’t have an addictive personality, so it’s impossible for me to be addicted.  Right?????  Wrong.

So I’m taking a FaceBreak.  I changed things, Mary Beth style, switching settings for wall and notifications so I don’t completely lose touch.  I’m giving it a week to see how it goes.  Honestly, it’s been almost 24 hours and I feel great.  Sure I’ve had a couple of urges to see what’s going on, but I’m really truly not interested in your feelings on the weather, the super duper cute things your kids say or how horrible the traffic is.

One of the things they teach kids in elementary schools is whether food is healthy or not.  We didn’t want to tell the kids honey buns are UN-healthy because it’s ok to have a honey bun every once in a while.  Just don’t eat the whole box.  So we tell them things are either healthy or “in moderation.”  And I preach it day in and day out, healthy or in moderation.

Everything in moderation.

I should probably listen to myself every once in a while.  I’m a pretty smart chick.

Everything in moderation.

So instead of  reading about other people’s kids, I’m going to hang with my own more.  And I’m going to blog more to record adorable stories of my own kids so they can read this one day.  I’ll update the layout and links since lots of my friends are blogging too.  FUN!!!

In case you haven’t heard, we’re moving.  Out of the South.  To Pennsylvania.  I NEVER in my 21 years ever imagined calling myself a Pennsylvanian.  BUT my friend Janet did it.  And she lives in a town that smells like chocolate and has a gingerbread house contest.  Seriously?????  I doubt Pittsburgh will be as cute as that, but I think it will still be fun.  There’s a really cool story that got us to Pittsburgh, jobwise, but the Lord has made is very clear that’s where we’re supposed to go.

One of the things that has been important to Will and me in figuring out the logistics is that we stay together as a family.  Our house is on the market here (and if you’d like to buy it, that’s be great.  thanks!) and we know it will be not fun paying to live in two places.  But we need to stay together; we’re a family.

Well, I’ve been pretty much waaaaay excited about moving since it became official.  Don’t get me wrong–I have THE best friends a girl could ever ask for.  EVER.  But when God takes you on an adventure, you just gotta roll with it.  And I’m a sucker for adventure.  A switch flipped in me last week.  I don’t know how or why it did, but it definitely switched.  I started panicking and I didn’t even realize it.  We have to find a place to live.  Now!!!!! All along, our plan was to find a place to rent/lease until our house sells.  If it takes a year, we live in a rental a year, no big deal.  We didn’t want two mortgages for multiple reasons, the big one being it’s A LOT of money.  And for the last week I’ve been panicking on the inside not knowing it.  Chalk it up to being a psycho woman, but I didn’t know it!

Well, through a deliciously painful series of events, the Lord told me very clearly “STOP PANICKING!”  It doesn’t matter that it was in the form of Jessica’s voice.  It was His voice.

“I have brought you here.  I know what you need.  I’ve never deserted you and I never will.  Get a grip.  Trust me!”

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[a]?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.  Matthew 6:25-34

That could not have been written any more clearly for me.  I have been worrying about the clothes we’re going to wear when we visit in January and move in February because it is COLD there.  (Side note:  if one more person tells me how cold it is up there, I’m going to punch them in the face.)   I have been PANICKING about where we’re going to live.  But I don’t need to!!!  So I gave it up to Him.  I’m making conscious decisions to not do the things that enhance the anxiety.  And the Facebook issue comes full circle.  Thinking on things that are good and right and pure and holy does not involve Facebook.  Everything in moderation.

So thanks to my sweet, dearest friends for being used by the Lord to bring me closer to Him.  I’ll be back before you know it, but I gotta go pull that slap-your-momma-good chocolate chip banana bread out of the oven.

8 Responses to “Everything in Moderation”

  1. allison December 16, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    love. you.

  2. Aunt Pam December 16, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    I look forward to reading your blog, Lorien! And yes, you are a writer. Your kids will one day love reading your installments. Aren’t adventures great?!

  3. Kate Hays December 16, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    wonderful!! i’m so proud to call you my sister. love you a million loaves of choc. chip banana nut breads!

  4. T.J. December 16, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    And the good news is you already have a friend in Pittsburgh!!!!

  5. Emily Boesl December 16, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Congratulations on your move! I wish the Lord would tell me to move away from here, but He has made it clear that this is where we need to be. I think you will love Pittsburgh – how exciting for your family.

    P.S. I wish we could afford to buy your house!

  6. Jessica Denny December 16, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    you’re a beautiful mess and i love you. xoxo

  7. Michelle December 16, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    True that sister! Congrats on the upcoming move. When He calls, He equips!

  8. Stephanie Ochello December 18, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    Thanks for treasuring your journals. You are far more eloquent and better with words, but no matter what you say, they’ll always know that they are loved! And…FYI… you are loved!

Leave a Reply

