POLAR BEAR CLUB!

12 Jan

I have absolutely nothing to blame on this insanity.  Will loves a good Polar Bear Club.  That is it.

It’s been quite cold here (for SC anyway) over the last week.  We got 4″ of snow on Sunday night/Monday and the temps haven’t gotten out of the 30s yet.  (And the kids are now home for the third day in a row.)  Will texted his buddies, seeing if anyone wanted to jump in the pool.  Nothing.

Until last night @ 5:30, I was on the phone with one of my closest friends, Jeannie.  Her husband Kelly was up for it.

He really was.

So, I called Allison and Leighton and Uncle Chris.  At 7:00 it was on.  And it was no more than 30* outside, 40* water temp.

I don’t know what came over me,  but I suddenly had the urge, for the first time ever, to jump too.  And somehow I managed to talk Jeannie and Allison into doing it with me.  Uncle Chris was having none of it and agreed to be the videographer.  We went first because if we waited any longer, we knew we’d bail.

You can’t see much in the videos, which is probably a good thing.  But turn the sound up a little and you’ll be very entertained.  (We actually jump around the 1:45 mark, if you don’t want to listen to the pre-jump party.)

The guys were much more carefree, let’s just say that.

No one’s heart stopped.  No one sank to the bottom of the pool.  And  I’m happy to report I can check that off of my life list.

5 Responses to “POLAR BEAR CLUB!”

  1. Margie January 12, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    I am hysterical laughing by myself at my computer. Y’all are awesome! It sound like you have a field trip of kids watching! What great memories! LOVE!

  2. allison January 12, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    craziest thing i have done since high school. or college? whhoooooohooooooooo:)

  3. janet January 12, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    Daaaaaaang, I miss you guys! I’m practically in tears both from laughing and being sad I wasn’t there. I love me some Southern Polar Bears!!

  4. Stephanie Ochello January 12, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    I would like to repeat the words of a very wise man, “Will, you are clearly out of your tree!”. And Lorien, you are becoming one of him! HA! Ya’ll are some crazy people… and thanks for letting the kids have such a fun memory!

  5. Julie porter-Shirley January 13, 2011 at 7:08 am #

    Y’all are crazy out there in SC! You need to come to NC where we sled in the driveway.

Leave a Reply

