fun date night.

1 Feb

Will and I figured out a few years ago that we’re not the “dinner and a movie” kind of couple.  While we enjoy a good movie, we’d rather DO something.  That’s how Will started me on kayaking.  A few summers ago, we scheduled a babysitter to come every Wednesday evening.  As soon as Will would pull up in the driveway, he’d say hi and kiss the kids.  I’d load the boats and gear in the back of his truck and we’d take off.  We’d sometimes get to spend 1 1/2 to 2 glorious hours on the Saluda River.

 

It.

 

Changed.

 

Our.

 

Marriage.

 

 

We had the BEST talks on those trips.  That’s where our Costa Rica adventure was born.  That’s where our Vermont trip was born.  And that’s where our future 2 month family backpacking trip in Northern Europe was born.

 

But since it’s a little chilly outside and I don’t have cold weather paddling gear, we opted for a tamer, but still fun, date night last Saturday.  We met my friend Gwen and her husband Mario at Stronghold Gym for a little rock climbing.  Will and I have been several times and it’s one of our favorite date nights.  Gwen and Mario had never been.

 

So.  Much.  Fun.

 

Gwen and Mario went on a Wing Odyssey after climbing and we joined them for Round One.  We cut our odyssey short and went straight for the best wings in town–Publick House.

 

 

And then we were asleep by 9:30.  Yes, we’re old.

5 Responses to “fun date night.”

  1. Aunt Pam February 1, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    Ha Ha! Great post, Lorien! Uncle Craig and I are helping to facilitate an Ezzo parenting class–we just had a session on how crucial it is for young kids to see mom and dad making it a priority to spend time together as a couple. I’m so glad you’re doing that! It’s the best thing you can do for your kids, besides just being plain fun! Love you!

  2. jenny February 2, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    I so have a post about this in the works too! We definitely are a movie and dinner type daters, but I found a list online to expand our options, and we took turns circling the things we want to do. First up on the list, bayou tour! (I know, I know…How have I never done this living in the swamps??)

    I love, love that y’all go on dates! My parents went out all.the.time growing up, and it was such a great thing that I still remember and had me and Joel “dating” from day 1. Y’all rock! 🙂

  3. janet February 2, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Girrrrrl. We want to kayak with you. We’ve been looking for kayak friends for a loooong time. I’m a rookie (meaning, I don’t roll over), but I do pretty well on calm water…and I’m ready to step it up!

  4. Broken Bohemian February 3, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    LO. This is why you are a rockstar. Do you know that we have three kayaks rotting in the yard because we haven’t gotten in them since we had kids? Sunday afternoons on the Saluda was our newlywed weekend activity. I LOVE that y’all do this. Way better than a movie. Except stronghold doesn’t put butter on your popcorn. 😉

  5. Kari February 5, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    ohhhh I remember those Wednesday night kayaking dates 😉
    you guys are awesome. i really want to hear about the upcoming move/i’m super sad i won’t get to see you before you peace out. i guess i’ll have to plan a trip to PA (since you AND lindsay are up there). good luck with everything. tell your presh kids i said hello. and i miss you guys so much!

Leave a Reply

