reading reading.

9 Feb

I admit I’m not a huge reader.  I don’t know why, but I do prefer an old Southern Living magazine over a book 99% of the time.  But I married a reader.  And I’m friends with readers.  And reading makes you smart and cultured and overall just a more rounded person. So I’m trying to read more.

 

I thought I’d share a few of the popular books in our house these days.

 

 

The Jesus Storybook Bible is by far our favorite Bible story devotional book.  Each story is written so beautifully and it always goes back to Jesus.  The illustrations are stunning and I honestly looked forward to reading through this book with the kids at night.  We’ve given several of these as gifts too.  As many books and toys that get destroyed in our house, THIS is the book that is completely intact.

 

 

Jesus Calling is my favorite devotional book.  My friend Gwen describes it as a “delicious fortune cookie in the morning.”  It’s warm, it’s Truth, it’s encouraging and it’s like Jesus is speaking directly to you and what’s going on in your life.  Oh, how I love this book.  So when I saw the author was coming out with a version for kids, of course I ordered it.

 

 

Kid version.  We read the entry every night and William loves looking up the associated Bible passages in his Bible, then reading them aloud.  It’s not for younger kids, but our boys really love this one.

 

 

 

So my husband is the world’s smartest man.  I’m not kidding.  97% of what he reads is very cerebral, and I’ve lost a few brain cells over the years, which I mostly attribute to pregnancies and childbirth.  So when he ordered this book on Amazon, I immediately discounted it as a cerebral Bible.  Until the other day.  I remembered I left my Bible in the car and was too lazy to go downstairs and get it, so I picked this book up.

 

And it’s awesome.  It’s a regular Bible but with lots of VERY understandable extras–commentary, articles, word translations, etc.  I found myself just flipping through it because it was THAT good.

 

 

 

And now my favorite–One Thousand Gifts.  This book is life-changing.  Seriously.  The writer is a popular blogger, who is an unbelievably gifted writer.  The premise is that she went on a mission to find out what truly being grateful is all about.  She started making a list of 1000 gifts and blessings, seeing God in the smallest things, through the monotony of the days and even in tragedy that occurs in her life.  What she writes is sooooo good, but it’s also in the WAY she writes.  If you check out her blog, you’ll get a glimpse of her style.  It’s like reading poetry.

If you haven’t gotten a copy from me from Amazon yet, brace yourself, because pretty much everyone is getting a copy for Christmas.

 

Happy reading!

One Response to “reading reading.”

  1. Broken Bohemian February 9, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    Love this post. I’ve been thinking of doing a similar one- it’s good to see what my sisterfriends are reading! Thanks for the inspiration, LO!

Leave a Reply

