The Hutch…after.

10 May

Here’s the finished project.  I’m a little disappointed in the photos, but it is what it is.  🙂  I absolutely adore this piece!  Inspired by Miss Mustard Seed, I took the plunge and invested in some Annie Sloan chalk paint, brushes and waxes.  Yes, it is a small investment, but oh so worth it.

Y’all.

This is the real deal.

There is no sanding, no priming, no nothing.  You wipe the piece down and paint the snot out of it.  It dries.  Then you brush on your wax(es) of choice.  They dry.  If you want to distress it, grab some fine sandpaper and the paint just sands right off in a fine powder.  I like the original hardware, so I stuck it back on and TA-DA!!!

I have painted several pieces of furniture in the past and nothing was as easy as this.  In fact, it was the project my mom and I worked on Easter weekend.  Oh how I love it.

I love the rounded details on the doors.

And the beadboard on the back of the upper part.

Eeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!

I’ve already finished another piece with some Annie Sloan chalk paint and I’ll post those before and after pics as soon as I take the after pics. 🙂

5 Responses to “The Hutch…after.”

  1. allison May 10, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    love.

  2. Mary Beth May 10, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    You’ve got me curious about this annie sloan paint…. the hutch looks fabulous!!

  3. Jessica Denny May 10, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    i. LOOOOOOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!! OMGRACIOUS! I want to try that paint so bad i can’t stand it!
    i might be painting something this weekend now. i have several random pieces around here that could use a facelift. thanks for the inspiration, girlfriend!!!!!! love you all the way to liberty of london’s factory and back.

  4. Shawna May 10, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    have a piece in the garage that has the drawers complete – just waiting for the big piece. how awesome to have completed this project in a weekend!! wondered if that annie sloan paint was worth it and i guess now i know! MB, i see that paint on your LR table! whatcha think? L, you’re awesome!

  5. Aunt Pam May 11, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    Lorien, it looks beautiful! I love the house! Love to all!

Leave a Reply

